Day 2 And Steadfast

Today was our second day of being a family of seven! It stills sounds crazy to me and to the Chinese we look it! lol  But this whole journey God has been teaching me to look through His eyes…not the eyes of man or my own flesh or feelings.  And to stand firm in what He has called us to do.

Now, more than ever, I have begun to realize that faith is putting one step in front of the other when feelings are lacking.  And later the feelings catch up.  God is giving us HIS love for Hudson and Wesley….and teaching us what it means to hold nothing back.  To be strong, steadfast, and press through in faith. He understands our frailty, and in our “weakness He has truly been strong.” The same words I shared with a couple who stepped out in faith last week and adopted a little guy with more severe special needs than they had anticipated.  I watched her in tears over her son having seizures and prayed so hard for them to stand steadfast, unwavering.  Now it’s our turn.  To rely upon a strength not our own.

 

IMG_0877

Our newest and dear sons are making progress. Hudsons are small steps…and we rejoice over them.  All of us are adjusting a little at a time as well.  The noise level has raised a bit in our family and this takes a little getting used to for some, but everyone is rolling with it and keeping a great attitude. God is pouring in His joy as we are getting to know them, and they are learning a little about us.  There is such a long way to go and much of our adjusting will take place at home with a day in day out routine.  Maybe that’s why we are so anxious to be home and settled. But we are taking one moment and one day at a time, trusting He is making “all things new!!”

When facing challenges it’s such a comfort to be near those you love and all that is comfortable to you.  But this has me thinking maybe God has us in this unfamiliar place, feeling somewhat uncomfortable and homesick…so that we can taste just a tiny bit of what our sons may be feeling.  New foods, smells, people, language……all so foreign to us…just as we are to them.  New beds, pillows, people that look at you blankly when you talk, make you wear underwear and a Mom that puts lavendar lotion on you.  Both our boys came with no underwear, only underclothing.  And the first thing Wesley showed his foster mom when we visited were his new underpants!  He was obviously very proud.  Funny the things we take for granted.  It’s all of these new sights, sounds, tastes, and losses that add up and must be a little overwhelming to them at times.

But the smiles are more frequent with each passing day….

John has been so wonderfully strong for us and so MANY of our friends and family are sending notes of prayer and scripture at the exact moments we need it! God is truly our Healer and we will see His glory shine out of darkness.

Wesley had a tough morning and just melted in tears a few times, but he is so tender and can be kissed and held as we bring him out of his fits or sorrow. His sweet smile, tender heart, sharing spirit, and even his babylike tendencies are all reasons to rejoice.  He will experience love and care that he was lacking early on.  His heart will heal and has already come so far.

Each day it’s a little brighter a glimmer that glows in Hudson. We are clueless to what he has endured, and are letting go little by little of the unknowns.   He is coming out of his shell some and we are beginning to witness a very silly, busy, talkative, ornery side. He giggles now and is allowing us to touch him a little more frequently. I rubbed lotion on his itchly legs tonight. I tried to put some on his hands and arms but he thought it was soap and went to wash it.  I guess lotion is a new thing too, but smiled and giggled as I said I love you in Chinese to him and kissed his cheek goodnight.

This morning he was Jenna’s buddy while we visited the Jiaxu Pavillion.  Jenna is such a big help and has no preconceived expectations of her brothers, so has been taking everything in stride and loving them just as they are.

IMG_0883

The Pavilion is a landmark of Guiyang City.  It sits on a boulder, in the center of the city, on the city famous river – Nanming River.  It was first established in the Ming dynasty in 1598.

IMG_0894

This was the gate to the south side of the city that led to the Pavilion.  The pavilion and surrounding buildings were once a military post for the emperor to control the minority uprisings, then later was a edecational center where scholars  studied to then travel 3-4 months to Beijing to take exams

Our handsome oldest guy, who is still and always “my little man,” has done so great this trip.  He is laid back and appreciates calm, but is honest with us about the crazy moments and helps in anyway he can.  His brothers are really warming up to him and teasing him! Wesley asked Ryan to hold him for the first time and Hudson asked to hold his hand on a few occasions.  (instead of mine)

IMG_0876

In the afternoon everyone was a little bored and restless in our hotel room.  John decided that since his Chinese haircut turned out well, that he would take Ryan and Hudson to the same place.  These pictures are priceless.  Both boys came back happy.

Ryan was telling me how they do such a great job and that they treated Hudson so kindly.  John showed the hair dressers a picture of us in front of the adoption center sign and they gave him the thumbs up and the woman who worked their made her hands into a heart. The gave Hudson the royal treatment and wouldn’t allow John to pay for  his haircut.

John said he loved every minute of it.  I think he felt special, cared for, and is slowly learning he is loved.

God is bringing to life parts of my heart and soul I never knew existed.  He is teaching me daily to battle and fight through my fears, standing steadfast.  To cry out to him in my frailty, and except that I too am loved just as I am.

God gave me these scriptures this evening. These along with so many you all have shared…have kept my mind and heart aright, when fear would love nothing better than to capsize or shake me from standing.  Each day I plan to get up and love, not perfectly…but with the hand of a perfect Father holding mine.

Thou whom I have taken from the ends of the earth, and called thee from the chief men thereof, and said unto thee, Thou art my servant; I have chosen thee, and not cast thee away.

10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

11 Behold, all they that were incensed against thee shall be ashamed and confounded: they shall be as nothing; and they that strive with thee shall perish.

12 Thou shalt seek them, and shalt not find them, even them that contended with thee: they that war against thee shall be as nothing, and as a thing of nought.

13 For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.

14 Fear not, thou worm Jacob, and ye men of Israel; I will help thee, saith the Lord, and thy redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.

15 Behold, I will make thee a new sharp threshing instrument having teeth: thou shalt thresh the mountains, and beat them small, and shalt make the hills as chaff.

16 Thou shalt fan them, and the wind shall carry them away, and the whirlwind shall scatter them: and thou shalt rejoice in the Lord, and shalt glory in the Holy One of Israel.

17 When the poor and needy seek water, and there is none, and their tongue faileth for thirst, I the Lord will hear them, I the God of Israel will not forsake them.

18 I will open rivers in high places, and fountains in the midst of the valleys: I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water.

19 I will plant in the wilderness the cedar, the shittah tree, and the myrtle, and the oil tree; I will set in the desert the fir tree, and the pine, and the box tree together:

20 That they may see, and know, and consider, and understand together, that the hand of the Lord hath done this, and the Holy One of Israel hath created it.

Isaiah 40: 9-20

When our God brings us to something much bigger than us and out of our control, he promises to hold our hand and steady us. Then He makes some big things happen….rivers and pools of water in the wilderness, and promises a new threshing instrument that will destroy our enemy’s plans!!! All this so that we can clearly see HIS love for us and that it’s HIS hand that has done it all!

As we continue to walk this journey our thoughts are of you…our family and friends who have loved and prayed for us.  “God is in the midst of us, we shall not be moved”  We thank you for every word of wisdom, every tear you have shed along with us, and every prayer reaching the throne along with our own.

Goodnight from Guiyang, China. Have a beautiful day covered with Him.

20151130_204114

Our sweet girl.  She has done so great, but is very ready to be home she says.  Her smile shouts healing…and is a testimony to what our loving Father is capable of.

 

I stand with so many questions
But You know all of the answers
And whether this side of Heaven
I know that You are the Healer

And my heart will stay steadfast
I know that You are good
And my heart will stay steadfast
I know that You are good

Comforter You are to me
Shelter from the cold
Constant how You carry me
Never letting go
You are with me

And Your voice holds me together
When I feel like I’m falling apart
And I place my world in Your hands
And You come and steady my heart

I feel you in the stillness
I know that You are good
I feel you in the stillness
I know that You are good

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Day 2 And Steadfast

  1. Love the haircut pics. The uncomfortable moments you are going through right now is a small piece of what the boys will go through when they arrive in the US. They still see China as their home so they are still comfy there. Wesley is a little ham, and a cute one at that. Hudson seems more thoughtful and reserved. I gotta admit, the tough part is finding out who they really are inside regardless of their orphan background. It will be neat to see if there is a lot of change or just a small shift. I can’t wait to hear that you have them figured out just like you do with R, J, and E. The fun part of being a mom, so many personalities to learn and knowing that your children and not copy cat images of eachother…then trying to keep all that info straight in your brain!

  2. Hang in there, you guys are doing awesome! Wesley is so cute and it has been wonderful to see him open up and blossom with the family. Husdon’s smile is beautiful to see. It may be a different journey with him then you expected, but the road less traveled is always sweeter and grows you in ways you could never imagine. As you know God is with you every step of the way. Continue to enjoy your journey and hand your fears over to God. I have loved following along and it sure brings back a lot of memories 🙂 Love Stephanie

Leave a Reply

