Green Lights and Lemonade

This adoption post has been on the back burner as John and I have quietly been in prayer, trusting that God will surely “supply all our needs, according to HIS riches.” We’ve talked, prayed, trusted, not talked on purpose, trusted, …and prayed yet again.

Then today…..God used this moment to open my eyes….

lemonade

Ryan and Jenna begged to do a lemonade stand to benefit our adoption.  They set it all up themselves and are out there now in the warm sunshine waiting for that first car to stop and give.  So now I’m trying to type with blurred eyes as I watch out the window now.  At our two oldest kids with hearts as big as the ocean for God’s great big burden of adoption.  It makes this mama heart proud.

We’ve talked reality with them.  They know to bring one orphan home it can cost over $50,000.  Yet, $.50 for a cup of lemonade is where they start.   In faith….knowing God can take our gifts and multiply them.  I smile and rest. Knowing God can give us the patience to wait upon his plan.  I smile and rest.

flowers

As I watched them gather supplies and read the sign they were making, I realized they were going to sit out by the road and “ask.”  Something we haven’t done at all thus far, and quite honestly haven’t felt comfortable doing.

But God brought something very clear to my memory…..

When I was a very new mom and Ryan only a few weeks old I recollect tiredly attempting to juggle new responsibilities while getting very overwhelmed as I tried to do all I thought needed done in a 24 hr day.  I can vividly remember one evening John finally saying “if you need help, just ask me! I will help you, just tell me what to do!”  I look back and thank God for that moment.  Because John and I learned a dance following that night.  One of unselfish compromise and teamwork.  “give and give”  That’s how a family functions well.  With each member giving, so that one doesn’t feel the strain of a burden to great.

But what if the burdened soul feels uncomfortable asking.  Asking can feel that way.

Jesus said it plainly “Ask, and ye shall receive….that your joy may be full.” I don’t believe we were built to trudge through alone.  In fact I know from experience we were not.  If it wasn’t for a daily laying down the burdens my heart tends to pick up along the way…I would not be able to freely give and love my family.  I’ve been there.  Dry.  Weary.  Alone.  Frustrated.  Then….God asked me to come and lay my burdens down and drink of Him.  And to ask Him daily for all I need.  To ask, and it would be given.

In asking, there is humility.  A realization we can’t do it all, yet a rest is found in knowing He can.

In 2011, God clearly asked me to begin asking Him for help….daily…moment by moment.  Somehow deep inside I remember knowing He was preparing us for something big ahead.  That we would need His strength to endure.  And amazingly enough.  In that year 2011, long before we decided to step out into the adoption world…. a little girl was dropped off at the Baoji Welfare Center at only 5 days old. A sweet baby who the orphanage named Wei Yi Xuan.  Whom we have bouncing around our home today, filling every nook and cranny with her smiles and perky, smart questions.

IMG_7549

I believe in God’s perfect timing, in His Holy Spirit leading, and in those lessons that need learning before we open our hearts wide to share.  Today I feel God has gently whispered that we have the green light to invite you to be a part of this special journey we are on, to 2 very special little boys.  Hudson and Wesley.  They will be here, God-willing, this fall.

We will be able to share their pictures with you if we see you in person, and as soon as a few more steps are reached in our paperwork, we will share pics via our blog!! They are precious and amazing little guys.  And we can’t wait to get them home and begin the healing process.

So we humbly ask…. “Would you like to be a part of giving to bring our boys home?

If so,  we are keeping it rather simple…..

First of all…..your prayers are the MOST valuable thing we could ever receive.  And for those who have asked how to practically help by giving to cover adoption costs…

You may contact us personally to give or use the PayPal link we’ve created.

John & Cindy Sparks, P.O. Box 1604, Findlay, OH 45839

     Adoption Fund

paypal donate

“Then he took the five loaves and the two fishes, and looking up to heaven, he blessed them, and brake, and gave to the disciples to set before the multitude. And they did eat, and were all filled: and there was taken up of fragments that remained to them twelve baskets.” Luke 9:16-17


3 thoughts on “Green Lights and Lemonade

  1. What a beautiful post, Cindy! Tears. I hope you don’t mind, but I shared this post on my blog. I am not on WordPress anymore. My daughter opened a new blog for me and had it designed professionally, as a mother’s day gift. She likes BlogSpot better, so that’s where you can find me now. 🙂
    Praying for you and your family! ❤

    1. Hi Jana!!! Have missed you! I took a break from facebook, so have missed seeing your smile & posts! I will check out your new blog! What a sweet daughter to do that for you 😊
      Thank you so much for all your prayers & sharing our story!! So grateful to know you!

      1. Thank you, Cindy! I have missed you too. I’m so glad I have your blog in my reader so I don’t miss your posts. You are such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

