Counting our Birthday Blessings! 11-26-11 to 11-26-14

*This post is a little over a week overdue, but I figured it’s better late than never!! Between teaching, potty training, and normal everyday life…it leaves little time for me to write now.  I am thankful for the specific roles God has called me to during this season of life, but I do miss updating our blog, so I may have to find a way to squeeze it in from time to time. It has always helped me to slow down and drink in, a little more slowly, the reality of the great blessings and promises God has brought to pass.

Elyana Leigh YiXuan Sparks

Born 11-26-11 

Oh sweet girl you’ve filled our hearts with such joy! What a time to rejoice in the day our heavenly Father witnessed your birth and must have smiled at the joy He knew you would bring.  I wonder what faces held yours first, and what your first day here on Earth felt like.  Did your birth mother worry she wouldn’t be able to care for you? Does her heart still ache for you today?  Were you held close, warm and cuddled? All these things enter my heart on this very special day.

4

At 5 days old she was dropped off at the gate of the Baoji orphanage and given the name Wei YiXuan. What a journey she was on, and had no idea.  I’m so thankful God held her and sent such kind nannies to care for her.  I am in awe that we were gifted such a treasure to love through this life.

IMG_3374

(above) Elyana’s 1st birthday.

As she was having her 1st birthday, we were only one month into the paperwork that would lead us to her.  11-26-12

IMG_4507
photo

 (above) Elyana’s 2nd birthday. 11-26-13

One year ago, we waited & ached to hold you as you celebrated your 2nd birthday in a Chinese orphanage. We thought for sure that day we’d be with you, but our paperwork was delayed and the “birthday girl” shirt I bought you stayed on its hanger in your closet.  It was so hard to not be with you, but we were so excited to know we would see you SOON!!!

IMG_3141

Elyana’s 3rd birthday

Amazingly enough, now one year later on your 3rd birthday you were still little enough to your  “birthday girl” shirt!! I just got the most warm feeling as I dressed you in it….Just a year later after His healing love had penetrated your heart, and life now fills your eyes. You’ve truly been redeemed by a loving Father.

IMG_3140

It was your brother Ryan’s idea to wake you up with a room full of balloons.  He wanted more….but I’m not sure my car would’ve fit many more!

IMG_3181

 Your favorite show right now is Peppa Pig. So we decked out the house in Peppa! You were so excited and just beaming when you saw it all…especially your cake.

IMG_3164

IMG_3182 IMG_3183
IMG_3241
IMG_3162 IMG_3180

Loved so much by Mimi and PopPop!!

IMG_3189

Elyana had so much fun with her cousins.  She kept smiling and saying “I have a lot of cousins!”

IMG_3197 IMG_3219 IMG_3246

IMG_3254 IMG_3255

Elyana sure loves being silly with all her cousins! (missing a few in this pic though)

IMG_3257 IMG_3258 IMG_3261

Thank you to all who celebrated this very special day with Elyana!!

IMG_3282

 “A father of the fatherless, and a judge of the widows, is God in his holy habittion. God setteth the solitary in families: he bringeth out those which are bound with chains”


2 thoughts on “Counting our Birthday Blessings! 11-26-11 to 11-26-14

  1. I remember praying a special prayer for you on your birthday last year. And from looking at all the pictures your mom posted, God has answered all that I had asked for you and more. What a loving Heavenly Father we have! Happy happy birthday sweetheart! May you have many many many more!

    1. I’m so sorry Sarah, I just saw this! Your prayers for Elyana are precious and treasured. We are so blessed to have your love and friendship. When Elyana is older and can read through the blog, I hope she is flooded with the love for her that has been poured out here on our blog. I love you Sarah!

Leave a Reply

