One Year Ago……

One year ago (yesterday) we saw the sweet face of our littlest girl for the first time on July 19th 2013.

20140720-081811-29891656.jpg
As I drove to get groceries with her yesterday I felt this emotion sweep over me & quickly texted John to ask him if it was our Referral Day. He checked our blog, and texted back that yes it was RD.
All day I would just look at her in awe that a year ago I ached to hold her…..
And now we KNOW her & she now knows a love that will never leave or forsake her.

20140720-082238-30158567.jpg

20140720-082239-30159537.jpg
She feels the Fathers love through an earthly father willing to wait, pray & travel a world away to hold her.
Through our hands, infused with heavenly strength,….she now has security and rest.

20140720-082505-30305396.jpg
The love that poured through our hearts at first glimpse of our Elyana is unexplainable. It’s a day we waited for, and at that moment the phone rang and we were told there was a little girl 1 1/2 years old that was abandoned at only 5 days old, we knew. We knew it was the fulfillment of a promise from long ago.
At first sight, we knew we would do whatever it took to get to her, and love her unconditionally.

20140720-084655-31615702.jpg

I hear the Father say to my own heart….”Do you think I love you any less?” It’s with this same determination…a holy & perfect Father pursues & loves us in our weakness.

Our daughter has no idea how much our hearts ached for her….just as we so often have no clue how much our Father loves & waits for us to seek Him.
How much it must please Him when we seek Him & pour out our grateful ness to Him. I’m astounded at Elyana’s beautiful & grateful heart.
As I put on her pj’s a few nights ago she started jabbering something about China. (We talk often about our journey there). Anyway….I said to her, “we went to China to get you!”
What she then said and did broke my heart to tears….
She threw her arms around my neck and said “thank you, thank you Mommy getting Elyana China!”

How can my daughter who is now only 2 1/2years old grasp even in the tiniest way a gratefulness for being “gotten”.
We “get” groceries & other physical things…so is this how she grasps it? Knowing we somehow picked her up & kept her?

My heart is overwhelmed with thanksgiving for what my Father heaven has done for me. He has loved me….unconditionally. He chose me…and chose to use our love to parent Ryan, Jenna & now Elyana.
Who knows what the future may hold for our family…..but I pray His love continues to pour through us, so that HE is glorified. I ask that we waste not one day we’ve been given.
For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away. James 4:14
That we would be willing to set aside our flesh/wants for this short time….in exchange for the beauty & love that explodes when we give up all & follow after a Father that gave up ALL to pursue & love us.

Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.
Beloved, now are we the sons of God
I John 3:1-2a

Our lives have changed in SO many ways since God has brought this sweet brown-eyed girl into our family.
She may have needed us…but I’ll argue we needed her more!
She has changed every one of us.

Thank you Father that you have loved us & know what is best for each of our hearts. If only we will follow…..our hearts will be overtaken with a swell of love so great we cannot contain it all!

20140720-085749-32269041.jpg

Unstoppable Love
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wlQ2PgQeWmQ


2 thoughts on “One Year Ago……

  1. Awwww that was beautiful! Just by looking at her pics from then and now, I can see the amazing progress she has made since she arrived home with her loving family. So happy for you all! And I love her sweet comment. 🙂

    1. Thank you, it is truly amazing to see the healing that takes place gradually inside the heart. We are each born with SUCH a great need for an unconditional, heavenly Father’s love. I seem to always remember the words of the song that says “there’s a God shaped hole in all of us.” He’s so good at filling that spot only designed for Him. 🙂 With his love, she has changed and grown so much.
      I hope you and your family are doing well! The Summer was so busy & now back to school! Hardly seems possible already.

Leave a Reply

