This Ones For My China Buddies

Today is a big day in the life of 2 of Elyanas orphanage buddies. Our hearts are full and resting upon the promises of our Father. Susannah (Eli’s Mom) is praying Psalm 91 over Eli, and we pray the same over Kya as she undergoes a very dangerous heart cath. (I’ve included Tracy’s update below)
We haven’t received good news from Tracy, yet I feel an even stronger determination in Spirit to keep fighting. For Kya, Eli….Chloe…Elyana… & All these sweet ones finding the love of Jesus in the arms of their family.
As I prayed for these kids, I just envisioned them together in their teen years. What a sweet picture that was. Anything is possible with our God. “Is anything too hard for Him?” We rest & trust in Gods perfect plan.

I took some pictures of Elyana in her Xian shirt this morning in honor of her 2 buddies from Xian & send hugs to Chloe too! Boy do we miss you all. “We give thanks to God always for you all, making mention of you in our prayers” 1Thes 1:2

20140530-095053.jpg

20140530-095109.jpg

Hello all,
This morning we received word that Kya has taken another turn. Her O2 levels dropped to dangerously low levels causing her to have to be intubated again. I received a phone call around 8:30 this morning letting me know this had taken place. Not how I expected to start off the day.
I discovered last night which part of my body would start to go into stress mode as I spent most of the night hugging the toilet discovering that some foods should only be experienced in the downward direction. My body is not handling the stress of all of this to say the least. While I sat on the cold floor undoing all the physical nourishment I had taken in during the day, I was listening on my iPod to David Jeremiah replenishing my need for spiritual nourishment. I am including the link that I had stumbled across on youtube as it was such an encouragement to me. The summary of it was his story about men in the concentration campus during WW2. He told the story of men who had everything and every freedom taken away from them but the one thing that can never be taken away from anyone is their choice of how they will respond in stressful situations. It was the reminder that I needed…not that I have to put on a fake smile or anything like that, but that I can choose how I will respond to stressful situations by allowing God to work through me or I can choose to become bitter. I can honestly say that I am not feeling bitter about any of this, but I can also say that I am having more and more difficulty each day handling all the news. Mama bear is tired.
After getting the news of Kya’s intubation I knew that I was once again going to have to spend the day on the phone with docs so I called up a friend and asked her to come over to help with the boys so that I could chat with docs while not having to wipe bottoms at the same time. Kim didn’t hesitate and came over to help. I then went out to run some last minute errands so that I can make it to Seattle tomorrow and stay overnight if needed. During that time, I received several phone calls from different docs. The topics were anything but light including having to make a plan of what we will want done if Kya goes into cardiac distress during her cath. I was then told that her cath had been moved up from the middle of next week to tomorrow afternoon. She is the last one of the day but they want to get her in before the weekend. The sense of urgency really started sinking in at that point.
I received another phone call while I was sitting in Carlton’s office from the transplant doc, Dr. Kemna. She told me of the different paths we can choose to take and all I can say that is apart from an absolute miracle taking place, we are either looking at having to push fwd with a transplant knowing Kya may not survive the surgery or we will be putting her on hospice care as she is no longer a candidate for further heart surgeries like the Glenn procedure to repair the other parts of her heart. As it was explained to us, they can fix the rest of her heart but without the ventricle function returning, it would be like repairing the top of a bouncy ball while still having the bottom part blown out, pointless.
While sitting in the office with Carlton, we both were in tears as we realized again that Kya is not doing well. We had to make decisions about what road to take next with her and the unknowns of what will happen tomorrow make the decision making process almost maddening. Kya is at a very high risk during the cath of having to be placed back on the ECMO machine. We are hoping that does not happen but we had to give the ok for her to be placed back on it as the risk of neurological damage is greater this time around because she was on ECMO only a little over a month ago, not enough break time in between. I hope the word ECMO is not a word I even have to hear tomorrow.
We know that Kya’s future rests in God’s hands and not our ability to make decisions. Thank goodness for that knowledge because our ability to even take all of this in is not that great. We ask for prayers for wisdom as we continue to have to take all of this just one day at a time hoping and pleading for a different outcome.
Thank you to all who are helping with the boys and so many other things in our lives at this point.

Much love to all

Nahum 1:7
The Lord is good, a strong hold in the day of trouble; and he knoweth them that trust in him.

20140530-100142.jpg

20140530-100154.jpg
There are no accidents or coincidences with our Father in heaven. He orchestrated that we all travel and hold our precious children from China together. Each of you have been a source of comfort and encouragement for us.

We love & miss you and cling to the promises of our merciful Father.
Psalm 91

1 He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

4 He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6 Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7 A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

8 Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

9 Because thou hast made the Lord, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;

10 There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

13 Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

14 Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

15 He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.


One thought on “This Ones For My China Buddies

  1. I am just weeping ! I am praying ! My heart is just aching to want to be there and help! I will continue to keep the parents ,the family, and these precious children in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

