Kya: Not Released Yet To ICU

photo (6)

Elyana’s orphanage buddy Kya, with one of her brothers. These smiles are contagious!

Kya has recently recovered from her first surgery on her tummy and has now made it through her second crucial surgery which took place yesterday.  Here’s the update from her mom/11pm last night:

Kya is out of surgery but not in the clear.  She is on an ECMO machine as her little heart is not wanting to function on its own yet.  She is still in the surgery ward and has not been released to ICU yet.  Please pray her heart will start to get stronger and come  off the machine ASAP. – Tracy

This surgery was to “band” off her lungs to stop the amount of blood going to the lungs which is making them so soggy.  Her O2 levels will drastically drop after this surgery, yikes, but then it will help to lead her into the second surgery called the Glenn heart surgery.  Not sure why it’s called Glenn but I am guessing either some guy named Glenn either came up with this surgery or died in the process, lovely thought.  After that, she will have the Fontan surgery, who names their kid Fontan?  Seriously, these are the names of the different types of surgeries and you can easily google them to see what it is they repair. – (email from Tracy a  while back)

Please pray for Kya’s heart to beat on its own, and pray that her mom can get much-needed rest, as she has been told by Dr’s she’ll  have an especially active part of Kya’s recovery.  Tracy needs her strength and Kya’s little heart needs strength….and we know and trust where this life giving flow of strength will come from.

Thank you all for praying together with us.

I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised. Ps 18:1-3


Leave a Reply

