“What’s In A Name?”

Dear Little One, I miss you each and every day, but for some reason Sunday’s always seem to be the hardest for me. Maybe it’s because it’s the day our family slows down to spend time together and feel in a much stronger way there is a piece of us missing. With each passing day it gets harder for us to be away from you. Knowing we can’t pick you up and care for your every need, is a lot of letting go for us. So, we ask our heavenly Father today that those wonderful nannies would continue to take good care of you…..and we will keep counting the days until we see you…..

We hope you are sleeping peacefully now, or maybe your eyes are starting to peek open since it’s the very early morning. When you wake may the same beautiful sun we see now, greet you then. It was a good week for us…..God gave us your name Tuesday and Friday we met an wonderful family that has 6 amazing children (4 adopted from China)!

Tuesday I had lots of paperwork to fill out that required your new name to be documented for your passport ect.. So, as I on many other days before prayed….I asked God once again to please name you and told Him (without being demanding) that it would be so very helpful to have your name that day so I could finish paperwork. The night before we had made a list of fun names we liked, but we would hold your picture up and say the names and not one seemed to fit just right! A short while after praying Tues morning, I grabbed my phone and Googled “Hebrew girl names”….and a beautiful name popped out at me…….then I read the meaning of that name and KNEW that God had truly answered us again in a very definite way.

Your chosen name will be: Elyana – (it’s Hebrew meaning) :”My God Has Answered”

It was perfect and I knew right then God had answered yet again, just as He did October 3rd 2012 when your Daddy surprised us on a Sunday afternoon in our kitchen, and July 19th- when we first saw your face. I excitedly told your Dad, then shared it with Ryan and Jenna. They all loved it…..we all knew it fit you “just right.”

So little one, though you don’t know it yet, you now have a name by which you will be loving called…..

Elyana Leigh YiXuan Sparks


4 thoughts on ““What’s In A Name?”

  1. Oh my goodness my dear sister… Your beautiful letter has me in tears! Such a sweet family Elyana has waiting for her. Your love for her is overwhelming. I pray we get to meet her soon!

    1. I also was in tears as I wrote today….I just ache to have her here….and also trust in God’s perfect timing. He knows what He is doing. I can’t wait for her to also meet all her wonderful aunts, uncles, cousins & grandparents. Love you 🙂

  2. By the time I finished reading I was filled with joy about Elyana and your family. God’s blessing on all of you.

  3. Thank you Aunt Velma for the sweet and encouraging words you give us. We all love you VERY much….and look forward to the day when Elyana will meet you! I am so grateful and thankful for the love God has given us through kind, spirit-filled hearts like yours…..we’ve truly been blessed.

Leave a Reply

