Promise Giver, Promise Keeper

promises of God

God we thank you that you are a promise giver, and a God who keeps every promise made. You’ve honored and loved the prayers of our hearts, and have been merciful to use us in our imperfections. We are in awe of your great work, and give you all the credit and praise. We thank you that you are “faithful to complete the work that you have begun” and trust you with all the unknown details.

Last Sunday I spent with such an ache in my heart and prayers so deep to know the will of God. John and I prayed, seeking out the Lord as to whether we needed change age/or other specific details on our application, or continue to wait upon the Lord for what He had placed upon our hearts months ago.

It’s hard to explain all the details, and I’m not really sure of what I am allowed to share about waiting children….but we desired SO much to be obedient and do His will that at times it was heart wrenching. Deep inside we’ve known we had a little one waiting, but also knew that other children are often forgotten and never adopted. This breaks our hearts and I finally came to the conclusion that I would take them all if it were humanly possible. But God gently said “trust me.”

Then on the morning on Friday, July 19th (our referral day) I was praying and tossing again all the ideas and debates in my heart and mind around when I heard God’s gentle voice say….”So you trusted me to begin all this, but you can’t trust me to finish it?” It was exactly what I needed to hear. I quickly said “Yes Lord, you are right, I trust you.”

You see, for weeks I had been telling God we would adopt ANY child, or children he wanted us to….and to open our hearts to the right path if we weren’t already on it. John was praying along with me, and we just kept feeling that much like Abraham, we were to wait for the promise He gave us last October when this all began. When we filled out our application, and put the age of child ect… we planted a seed of faith. And what I believe God wanted us to see is that we didn’t have to keep wrestling & working to make that seed grow, but that He would take that seed and make it sprout and grow, bearing fruit in due season. Now I know and realize looking back, God was honored that we would pray “whatever His will, not ours” and I thank Him for His great love and patience with our lack of patience and trust at times.

Today, if you find yourself in circumstances that seem absolutely unclear…..I encourage you with the same encouragement we needed….to keep hope, trust & rest in His promises that when we are obedient—stepping out in faith, He is found faithful–ALWAYS. We can trust and wait upon Him to complete the work He has begun. He WILL do it, because he cannot fail in His love and plan for us.

He is patient to understand our human frailty, and meets us right where we are at….with what we need. This past Friday after I told God I would trust Him I took another look at this picture and saw the little chair that we’ve believed, since the beginning, was to be filled by our little girl. As I looked at that chair God spoke again to me “you already planted your seed.”

Sparks 042713 36[1]
I thank God that he spoke these words to me on the day she was “delivered” to us. It means so much looking back that He wanted to confirm, yet one more time, that we were on the right path. And when that phone call came that afternoon He was no doubtedly smiling in heaven. I felt His love so much in that moment that I couldn’t even stand as I was waiting for her to connect John on the phone line to share details of our daughter.

And as she begin to speak and say “John and Cynthia we have a little girl for you” I knew at that very moment she was ours and that she was the one we ached and prayed for….on so many different days—-for with God there are no “chance happenings” or “accidents.” God loves us SO much He weaves together the perfect plan for us as individuals….because He loves us as individuals and sees our deepest heart desires.

Every time I at look at our “little one’s” pictures now…..I feel the love of our Father. I am reminded that God heard this heart desire of mine long ago to be His hands and feet, that it is He who heard every prayer that our family be prepared for it…if it was His plan, and now see my family brought so close together through loving one little orphan girl a world away. When I see her face I am reminded of the promises of God…….and of His GREAT love.

So fittingly this afternoon, I opened my Bible to continue reading in Genesis….and what chapter would I of course read but the one where Abraham and Sarah are gifted their son Isaac whom God had promised them years before. They too, rejoiced in the promise of God fulfilled in their lives, and gave Him thanks.

abraham promise

(God encouraged Abraham to keep believing the promise) LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward. And Abram said, LORD God, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house is this Eliezer of Damascus? And Abram said, Behold, to me thou hast given no seed: and, lo, one born in my house is mine heir. And, behold, the word of the LORD came unto him, saying, This shall not be thine heir; but he that shall come forth out of thine own bowels shall be thine heir. And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be. And he believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness. Gen. 15:1-6
(God’s promise fulfilled) And the LORD visited Sarah as he had said, and the LORD did unto Sarah as he had spoken. For Sarah conceived, and bare Abraham a son in his old age, at the set time of which God had spoken to him. And Abraham called the name of his son that was born unto him, whom Sarah bare to him, Isaac. And Abraham circumcised his son Isaac being eight days old, as God had commanded him. And Abraham was an hundred years old, when his son Isaac was born unto him. Gen 21:1-5

Today, I simply wanted to give thanks and share this love I feel overflowing out of my heart. I can’t wait for you all to see her picture…..because you aren’t just seeing a little orphan girl….you are seeing a promise of God and a great big piece of His love bundled up in the form of an orphaned little girl.

**We thank you all again for all the support and love we’ve been given, and for all the rejoicing you’ve been doing along with us! We ask that you all would continue praying for her….that “all things will work together for good” so that we are able to bring her safely home in God’s perfect time.


4 thoughts on “Promise Giver, Promise Keeper

    1. I am so excited and feel blessed to have been apart of you Journey, at least in prayer. He is Faithful and He NEVER fails us even though at times it seems we are walking alone. We just need know that if we continue to press through and trust, He will reveal his plan and guide us along the way!!! I love you so very much and what a blessing you and John have been to all of us!!!!

  1. such a beautiful post and a testiment to the beautiful way God weaves our babies into our lives! your sweet baby is going to look so cute in the little empty chair one day soon 🙂
    the wait is excruciating and I can remember many a long day sobbing and grieving another day lost while my baby girl was with someone else. God honors those tears and will grow great compassion and strength you will need soon.
    much love to you!
    angie

    1. Thank you so much Angie for your encouraging words! My awesome & supportive sister said she found your blog last night & didn’t know I follow your blog http://www.angiedweldon.com/?m=1 and on so may days that I’ve ached for our daughter….reading your words was just what God would use to bless & touch a place in me that needed to be understood. I loved what you wrote on your most recent post about not being able to remember when this ache for your daughter began, because it seems to have been there SO long….that’s so much how I feel. I’ve prayed for years & waited for God to move on my husbands heart. All the while He was preparing, changing, strengthening & getting me ready. So often I doubt my abilities, but realize its in Him I find all I need to be His hands & feet to all who need love. I thank you for your blog, the love you have for our Savior, & honesty with which you share your heart.
      Thanks for poppin in to say hi.

Leave a Reply

